Bethune-Cookman University Announces 2023 Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Winners

Six Students Awarded Scholarships from Local Business Partners

DAYTONA BEACH – Earlier this month, Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU) announced the six winners of the 2023 Hospitality Business Leader Scholarships, of which five are sponsored by business partners in Florida, and one by the Hospitality Management Department’s 2021 Pineapple Anchor Ball fundraiser. In addition to a scholarship of $3,000 each, recipients will also gain mentorship from industry professionals at their scholarship’s sponsor company.

This year’s recipients, who are all enrolled in B-CU’s new B.S. in Business Administration with a concentration in Hospitality and Management Systems program, are:

  • Chasya English – Gordon Food Service, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award
  • Rakiya Lewis – Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award
  • Kristianna Anderson – Pineapple Anchor Ball, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award
  • Shelby Coney – Loews Hotels & Co, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award
  • Waneysha Louissaint – Elite Hospitality LLC, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award
  • Ajee Grantlin – Hard Rock Hotel Daytona Beach, B-CU Hospitality Business Leader Scholarship Award

The commitment and unwavering support from the industry partners are undoubtedly clear.

“We are glad to be a part of the program and to support the success of a deserving future hospitality major,” said Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort General Manager Jim Berkley. “You can count on the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort to support a hospitality student via the two-year partner award program.”

“This Gordon Food Service scholarship is just another way we can support business students at B-CU, and we are thrilled to contribute financially to a student’s academic career and their road to graduation,” said Gordon Food Services HBCU Program Manager Dawn Jamison.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for us to support and mentor a student leader and to partner with the hospitality concentration,” said Loews Hotels & Company Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Akanksha Aga.

Winners were selected based on a GPA of 2.5 and above (3.0 for Gordon Food Service) and a recorded video explaining reasons for choosing the discipline, the benefits of a career in hospitality and business, and the impact of innovation on tomorrow’s hospitality businesses.

Dr. Ruth Smith, department chair and associate professor of hospitality management, thanked the treasured industry partners for their investment in the future hospitality business leaders and gamechangers. The students will be able to celebrate with their industry partners at an awards ceremony and luncheon in September.