Florida A&M Sports Hall Of Famer Pam Oliver To Be Inducted Into The Florida Sports Hall Of Fame

FAMU's 1984 4 x 400 All-American Relay Team (Mary Jones Wellens, Vogel Newsome, Pam Oliver, Pam Porter)

TALLAHASSEE – Florida A&M Sports Hall of Famer Pam Oliver will join another Hall of Fame in November, the Florida Sports Hall of Fame, as a broadcaster.

“To be in the Florida A&M Hall of Fame is a source of pride for me, and to get this call, it is definitely special, and I didn’t see it coming,” said Florida A&M Sports Hall of Famer Pam Oliver. “I’m excited about it and feel incredibly honored, and it’s still pretty surreal.

“It’s just exciting, and I can’t wait to meet everyone and be a part of that family.”

Oliver has contributed to FOX Sports’ coverage of eight Super Bowls. She was the lead feature reporter on FOX NFL SUNDAY for many years. She served as co-anchor of FSN South’s “Southern Sports Report” from 2000 to 2003. Prior to joining the network, she was an ESPN reporter, gaining football experience covering the NFL Playoffs and NFC Championship Games. In addition to her duties as feature reporter on “NFL Prime Monday,” Oliver covered each Monday Night Football matchup.

Pam has received numerous awards in her career, including the Atlanta Women in Sports Lifetime Achievement Award in 2019. In 2018, she was honored with a Gracie Award by the Alliance for Women in Media. In 2008, WISE (Women In Sports and Events) honored Oliver with one of its “Women of the Year” designations.

While at Florida A&M on the women’s track and field team, Oliver was an Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) track and field All-American in the 400 meters and mile relay. Oliver held the distinction of participating on the first women’s team from Florida A&M to win a national championship (AIAW). She was inducted into the Florida A&M Sports Hall of Fame in 1996 for her sports accomplishments and again in 2016 when FAMU’s women’s mile relay team (Mary Jones Wellens, Vogel Newsome, Pam Oliver, and Pam Porter) was recognized.

The 2022 induction ceremony will be held on November 2 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa.