Winning Entries For The 2024 Dr. King Parade

Stan and Barbara Fischer portrayed Martin and Coretta King are on the far left along with the winners
The winners for the 2024 MLK Parade.
Commemoration Committee officials along with Stan and Barbara Fischer who portrayed Martin and Coretta King on far right


LEESBURG – There were grand and honorary marshals, decorated floats, cars and pick-up trucks, classic cars, fire and police departments showing off their latest equipment to save lives and preserve law and order, marching bands, dancers, public officials, community leaders and organizations, and finally, the spectators.

Yes, it’s the Leesburg, Florida’s, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Parade, with life-like portrayals of Martin and Coretta King by Stan and Barbara Fischer, and exciting presentations by the entries. Sponsored by Dr. Martin L King, Jr. Commemoration Committee of Leesburg, Florida, the colorful parade is held every January to celebrate the life and legacy of Dr. King, the icon of civil rights, justice and equality.

Bands, colorful floats, classic cars, and a fire Truck with portrayals of Martin and Coretta King start at 9th Street and Magnolia Avenue.  Then it marches down Main Street in Downtown Leesburg to Canal Street to Magnolia Street where it terminates.

Judges, who sit on the temporary constructed grandstand provided by the City of Leesburg, will evaluate parade entries as they make their presentations.  Some entries are judged and some are not.  However, there are always four entries that attract the admiration of the spectators, who scream, make hand and facial gestures, making it known that an entry should be a winner.  These are the entries that the judges consider for first, second, third and fourth place parade winners.  Their evaluation is based on their performance and how well the entry exhibits the parade’s theme “Standing United in Times of Change, Challenge, and Controversy.”

Drum roll, please.

For first place, the winner is First Trinity Academy. Mt. Calvary Baptist Church took second place. The Leesburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is the third place winner. Finally, our fourth place winner is Macedonia Church of the Living God. Carver Middle School’s Band deserves an honorable mention for their participation.

Commenting on the important work of keeping the legacy of Dr. King alive through programs and activities for 2024, Carolyn Samuel, Chairwoman of The Dr. Martin L King, Jr. Commemoration Committee of Leesburg (MLKCC), said, “I am immensely proud of the committee’s dedication to carrying out our work with dignity, love and care,” “We firmly believe that Dr. King’s dreams and beliefs should be eternally remembered.”